Defending You Against DUI And OWI Charges
Seeing flashing lights behind your car is an unwelcome sight for anybody, but it can have a serious outcome for those accused of driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. In Iowa and Illinois, a driver can be convicted of a DUI if they have a blood alcohol content of .08% or more or are under the influence of controlled substances while operating a vehicle. Even first-time offenders face serious penalties that impact their future and how they live their everyday life. Aside from large fines and jail time, you may also lose your driver’s license for a year or longer.
If you face your first offense, your best option is to fight the charge to prevent further damage. A DUI conviction can result in higher insurance rates, difficulty obtaining employment or certain loans and significantly impact your reputation. At the Law Offices of Amanda T. Adams PLLC, Ms. Adams defends clients against DUI and OWI charges from her offices in Johnston, Iowa, and Crystal Lake, Illinois. With over 15 years of experience, you can trust her to protect your interests and prepare a solid defense on your behalf.
OWIs In Iowa
Driving under the influence in Iowa is called operating while intoxicated or an OWI. An OWI conviction can occur with a blood alcohol content of .08% or more or while having any amount of a controlled substance in a driver’s system.
A first-time offender in Iowa faces 48 hours to one year in prison, a license suspension lasting 180 days and a fine of up to $1,250. A second offense may require up to two years in jail, a one-year license suspension and a fine of $6,250. A third-time offender may have their license suspended for six years, be in jail for up to five years and pay up to $9,375.
DUIs In Illinois
A driving under the influence conviction in Illinois carries harsh penalties, such as one year in jail and a $2,500 fine for a first offense. A second and third conviction leads to higher jail sentences and a fine of up to $25,00. Offenders may also be required to participate in a substance abuse evaluation and treatment program. They may have to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle.
In Illinois, even without a conviction, you can lose your driver’s license for one year if you refuse to take a blood alcohol content test. If you refuse a second time, you could lose your license for up to three years. A first-time offender will lose their license for one year, whereas a second-time offender will lose their license for five years. After a third offense, the driver faces a license suspension of 10 years.
Don’t Put Your Future At Risk
An arrest for a DUI or an OWI does not mean you will be convicted. You still have a chance to fight the charges and protect your freedom. Contact the Law Offices of Amanda T. Adams PLLC, by calling 515-639-3168 or completing an online contact form to schedule a free consultation.